Show all terms

Haploid and diploid


In archaea and bacteria, the primary genetic material generally consists of only one circular chromosome. Eukaryotic organisms, on the other hand, generally have several linear chromosomes, which occur in single or double sets. Cells that have a single set of chromosomes (germ cells) are said to be haploid, while cells with a double set (body cells) are said to be diploid. Fungi are eukaryotic organisms and can be haploid, diploid or even tetraploid.


Updated: 2020-12-02.

Recently Updated

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences